The Google map shows the geographical area of the Tuscan and Lazio Maremma, a vast territory that embraces the provinces of Pisa, Livorno, Grosseto, Viterbo and Rome.

Tuscany and Lazio share the possession of the Maremma area, which in the two regions (but also within them) takes on different morphological characteristics. The Google geographic and satellite map shows in detail the vast territory of the Maremma, which coincides mainly in the Province of Grosseto (in terms of size and notoriety) in the south-west of Tuscany, but which also extends into the provinces of Pisa, Livorno and Lazio, with Viterbo and Rome. In total, the Maremma occupies an approximate area of about 5000 km2 with over 250 kilometers of coastline in front of the Tyrrhenian Sea. The maximum distance from the sea is about 40 kilometers. Although i the exact boundaries of the territory are difficult to define (having changed several times over time), it is however possible to divide the Maremma into three territorial areas: the Maremma Pisana – Livornese to the north, the Maremma Grossetana in the center (for many, even if incorrectly, the Maremma in the proper sense) and the Maremma Lazio to the south. Thanks to such a rich and multifaceted territory, there are many destinations in Maremma to be discovered, especially in the center, in the Grosseto area, where the truest and most authentic Maremma soul resides.

The Classic Sunflowers of the Tuscan Maremma – Grow in Summer: June and July (Photo by Romano Pampana)

The municipalities within the Maremma territories

Province of Pisa: Casale Marittimo, Castellina Marittima, Guardistallo, Montescudaio, Monteverdi Marittimo, Orciano Pisano, Riparbella, Santa Luce.

Province of Livorno: Bibbona, Campiglia Marittima, Castagneto Carducci, Cecina, Piombino, Rosignano Marittimo, San Vincenzo, Suvereto.

Province of Grosseto: Arcidosso, Campagnatico, Capalbio, Castell’Azzara, Castel del Piano, Castiglione della Pescaia, Cinigiano, Civitella Paganico, Follonica, Gavorrano, Grosseto, Giglio Island, Magliano in Toscana, Manciano, Massa Marittima, Monte Argentario, Monterotondo Marittimo, Montieri, Orbetello, Pitigliano, Roccalbegna, Roccastrada, Santa Fiora, Scansano, Scarlino, Seggiano, Semproniano, Sorano.

Province of Viterbo: Canino, Montalto di Castro, Tarquinia, Tuscania.

Province of Rome: Civitavecchia, Santa Marinella.