Etruscan coast

The Costa degli Etruschi is a vast stretch of Tuscan coast in front of the Tyrrhenian Sea that starts from Livorno and extends up to the Piombino promontory for over 90 kilometers, it includes the municipal territories of Bibbona, Castagneto Carducci, Cecina, Livorno, Rosignano Marittimo, Piombino, San Vincenzo, and some municipalities of the hinterland: Campiglia Marittima, Collesalvetti, Sassetta e Suvereto. The Etruscan Coast coincides (not entirely) with the Maremma Livornese (historically Pisan), the northern part of the whole Maremma, called Upper Maremma Toscana, which includes a large part of the province of Livorno and the first hills west of the Val di Cecina, Val di Cornia, and those on the north-western side of the Metalliferous Hills within the Province of Pisa. The Etruscan Coast owes its name to the massive presence of the Etruscans who lived there starting from the 9th century BC. The presence of this ancient people is confirmed by the numerous settlements still present in many places in the Maremma, but above all in the Archaeological Park of Baratti and Populonia, located between Piombino and the Gulf of Baratti, where the Etruscan city of Populonia resided, one of the twelve city-states of the Etruscan Dodecapoli together with Roselle.

The territory of the Etruscan Coast is suggestive and uncontaminated, rich in extraordinary natural beauties, clean sea – Blue Flag 2013 – breathtaking landscapes, history, art and culture, charm, good food and great wines.

The Etruscan Coast is characterized, above all, by the archaeological and naturalistic areas of the Val di Cornia Parks: Rimigliano Coastal Park, Sterpaia Coastal Park, Montioni Natural Park, Baratti and Populonia Archaeological Park, Poggio Neri Forest Park and Park Archaeominerary of San Silvestro.